Thursday, May 13, 2010

Subbing Day 1

Today was my first day subbing... and it was interesting... I was at a middle school in Westland today for a full day. I thought I'd share with you a few of the happenings of the day.

Notes on 1st day of subbing:
-I had about a third of every class come and tell me they were injured and needed ice (there was an ice maker in one of the equipment rooms off the gym) and it took be about 2 class periods to catch on that they were mostly lying in order to get the ice and EAT it, not use it...
-I apparently look like I could still be in m.s. since some students that I was a new student...
-I pretty much made a girl cry near the end of the day when I told her FRIENDS that they couldn't go out during class to look for her lost phone... she wouldn't talk to me herself and I kept telling them (they came up to me at least 15 times) that SHE could go to the office to ask for it of look around the school by herself but not all EIGHT of them. She started crying with the strict options and I soon found out she could be suspended if it was found out that she had been using her phone at school so no office for her!..
-It's been a while, but i had a few 8th graders flirt with me...
-I was given the wrong advisary room number so I was majorly late to that class...
-Some of the keys I was given chose not to work for me today, like the ones to the pe office and gym, and then they forgot to give me keys to the equipment rooms and advisory room...
-the students at this school complained at the assigned 6 minute WALK, and then a 5th to a 3rd of the students were allowed to just SIT OUT and sleep or goof around! I can't believe these kids get away with doing so little!

Well, today was definitely a learning experience that I'm glad I have under my belt now! On to the next school!!!

New News!

Soooo, it's been a little bit since I wrote last, and there's been a few changes in my life... I finished
my student teaching in mid-April and then GRADUATED!!!! I got to go to the smaller, quainter Kinesiology graduation with all my family(thanks for coming!!) on Friday morning. Then, I got up SUPER early on Saturday morning to drive to the Big House through rain and thunder storms that thankfully stopped as soon as we went to wait in the extremely long security lines (we had to walk through metal detectors and couldn't bring anything in a bag or drinks or umbrellas), and why did we have such strict security for an average college graduation, you may ask?! Well cuz UofM can't stand being average! We had to go out and steal the President of the US for a day! The special occasion packed the available space in the Big House (couldn't seat people behind him now could we?), getting somewhere above 80,000 people, most there just to see the big event. While Obama's a fine speech giver, there were only a few points I felt were actually directed toward us graduates rather than possible voters and him wanting to make sure we continue to support him and understand why we shouldn't hate him. Oh, and then we had our great governor who did a nice kiss up speech to our President that had NOTHING to do with graduating! Overall, pretty disappointing when I was looking forward to a real good inspiring speech shoving us into the world from our esteemed speakers. Fortunately, there was an awesome student speaker who saved the day. He was funny and relevant, saving the day!

Now, I'm doing some more research with an old professor, working for my dad's business, babysitting my beautiful niece, and subbing! Busy, busy bee I am!