Tuesday, May 26, 2009

1000+ Hits!


That's right folks, my blog has reached 1000 hits! Very exciting news! Thanks for reading! I really appreciate your interest in my life and your comments are always fun to read!!

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Check this Out

A friend of mine pointed out this website recently, and once you see it you can't help but laugh!


As you can probably guess from the site name, it's about awkward family pictures. Check it out, have a laugh, possibly relate to it... Here's just a sneak peek:

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

The Next Generation

A few blogs ago, I announced the wonderful news that my sister-in-law was pregnant. Finally, we've found out that the first of the next generation of the Archibald clan will be starting with a........ (drumroll please)

..... a GIRL!!!!

Yep, that's right, another girl in the family full of many, many girls! SO EXCITING!!!! I've never really been around babies, being the youngest, so I can't wait to be here for all this!!

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

My Little Helpers

I have to say, it's wonderful when people play to the expectations you give them.

I'm currently in a water safety instructor course where we learn all about swimming and how to teach swim classes later on. Yesterday, I got my first chance to teach in the class and my subject was the jellyfish float (if you want to learn, count on me!). As per requested, I stated my lesson was aimed to 8 or 9 year olds and then went on to teach my stuff. Usually I only have to deal with very mature college students, but not this time. Nope, this time, in the midst of my teaching, many of my classmates had no trouble acting the part of an 8 or 9 year old. Ooo good times...no, not really, but I suppose I should be thankful they're giving me practice with my disciplinary skills!! Thanks soooo much guys!

Monday, May 18, 2009

Movie! Movie! Movie!!!

Yes, I've recently seen 3 semi-new movies and thought I'd give my opinion to all you fine folks!

Trekkie! No, I'm not an actual "Trekkie" but I just might become one if they keep coming out with movies like this most recent version that came out a couple weeks ago! I was never one to watch the reruns playing as I grew up, and I actually made fun of a few people who did... sorry about that. Anyways, as a family, we had the chance to choose between seeing the newly released Angels & Demons or Star Trek and a surprising push from my mom made us see the Star Trek (later we found out she's a hidden Trekkie that grew up on the show, watching it as a family during dinner...). Not having grown up on the show, I didn't know much about it except Kirk was captain, Spock was odd, and "Beam me up, Scottie!" meant there must be a Scottie somewhere in there. However, my missing knowledge didn't matter. I still loved it! I know my mom loved it even more, knowing the background, but it's actually pretty cool that they can do a remake that makes both old fans and newbies happy! It was action packed right from the beginning and I was only confused a few times! Oh, and the new Kirk is totally cute! Anyways, I would say you should see it, and if you have prejudices against the show, get over them! See it!!

Next, I saw X-Men Origins: Wolverine. After all the hype about this movie, I was kind of disappointed. Yes, the movie was definitely good, and I like the idea of seeing the back story behind some of the characters, but I was left unamazed like I thought I'd be. I absolutely love superhero stuff (not so much comics...) so it's always cool to see the creativity in coming up with new "powers". I'd say, if you were gonna see it, you would've seen it by now, otherwise you might as well wait but it's still a really good movie!

Finally, and I know I may get made fun of for this, but I saw the Hannah Montana movie. What made it even better was that I got to see it with an old friend, in the middle of the afternoon so it was cheaper, in a huge theater, and we were the only two people in the theater! We got to chat all throughout the movie and didn't have to hide our reactions! It reminded me that I'd like to live in the country and own horses and ride all over the place!! It was so awesome to see the scenes where they would just ride over field after field! So jealous! I'll have to say, though, it's definitely not a movie for everyone, and maybe not even very many people, but I still loved it! It brought back the girlie girl in me!

Thursday, May 7, 2009

Building Up My Muscles...

While my summer plans aren't entirely set, I think I've got it figured out for the next few months at least. I'm still living in Ann Arbor and looking for a part-time job to carry through to fall semester, but I got an internship with one of my independent study teachers doing some research for about 20 hours a week. It pays pretty well, it'll look great on a resume, it'll get my name out in the research and PE world with the studies we turn in, and though it may sound boring it's actually kind of cool. It's something I actually know a lot about, and she seems to really value my opinion, and I can see where this research is going and could help.

Aside from the internship, I'm also taking a UMove class to get certified WSI and LG (water safety instructor and life guard) which anyone hoping to teach PE to jr high or high school would need to have. This is where my big muscles come into play. We had our first class yesterday, it meets twice a week for 3 hours each class. The first hour was basic 1st class stuff, but most of the next 2 hours was spent in the pool. We were given two lanes in the pool and split into good experienced swimmers and bad inexperienced swimmers. Seeing as I like to swim and have been doing it forever, and the bad swimmer group was bigger, I chose to jump in the good lane. Boy was I wrong. They were so fast and they all brought their own goggles! I ended up switching to the other group and found that they really didn't know what they were doing. Basically, I fell between the groups, but if you could choose to be the best of the bad group or the worst of the good group, which would you choose?? We were shown a style of stroke, then asked to swim 100 yards of that stroke, then we'd get out of the pool and see the next stroke and get back in and swim another 100 yards. It's been a loooong while since I've done that much swimming all at once and I was pooped until we got to the resting strokes. In the end, my muscles just felt nicely stretched, but of course they don't feel so nice anymore! I'm so sore now, but I'm excited to be really fit by the end of this class!! Plus, my sister was trying to talk me into a mini-triathlon, but the swimming part was always so intimidating. Maybe after this I'll be able to do it!! Oh, but there was something pretty funny about the class. As with most PE classes, most of the students are university athletes, and several of them were wrestlers in my slow swimmer group. Most of the time, no body fat would be a good thing, but not in swimming! They totally sank! The teacher kept trying to use me as an example of how to glide through the water so you don't have to stroke so much, but they couldn't do it! They just kept flapping their arms and splashing away. Now it seems nice that I've got my body fat! Maybe by the end, I'll be swimming in the fast group and fit as Michael Phelps!!

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Drunk Driving on a Barstool

I read a funny story the other day. A man got arrested for drunk driving on a bar stool... Apparently this guy built a mobile bar stool that can go much faster than you'd think. He was out driving around with his pack of beer and at some point he crashed but continued drinking his beer. Surprise surprise, the man's from Ohio; of course he would be. While I'd have loved to see this thing in action, here's a picture of the fabulous bar stool/lawn mower:

Skyping

Skyping: basically its video chatting for free! Maybe you've heard of it or maybe not, but I got the chance to try it out for the first time the other day and it was amazing! I got to hear and see my college roommate for the first time in like 7 months using this program and we crossed continents to do it. She's currently on an 11 month/11 countries mission trip and this month she's in Romania. While our general contact is through email updates, it's totally different being able to chat real-time, and even more, be able to see and hear each other!! Also, I learned you can do "conference calls" with the program where you can talk to multiple people all at once! I didn't get the chance to try it, but I've heard it's great! If you'd like to join, all you need is a computer with a microphone and/or camera, then you go to the website and get the free download. Add your contacts and call them up! Easy-peasy! Join and call me up!